RGS Board of Directors

Meet the volunteers who serve on the national RGS Board of Directors.




David Moore
David Moore



George S. Rich

Vice Chair


Tracy Larsen
Tracy T. Larsen

Brian W. Smith


Terry Wilson
Immediate Past Chair






Bruce Bennett
Bruce Bennett



Jamie Byers
Joseph M. Byers, Jr.



Seth Dizard



William "Bill" V. Krazinski, Jr.


David Kuritzky

W. Stephen Maritz


Shane T. Mengel



Julie Sandstrom-Hitchcox



Roy Smith 












Gaylen J. Byker
Gaylen J. Byker
Served Winter 1995 to Winter 2018
Thank you, Gaylen!




Leon "Joe" Chandler
Served Winter 2007 to Winter 2018
Thank you, Joe!



Bruce Ogle
Served Winter 2005 to Winter 2011
Thank you, Bruce!


John C. Oliver
Served Summer 2008 to Summer 2014
Thank you, John!


Jim Hayett
Served Summer 2007 to Summer 2016
Thank you, Jim!


Scotty Searle
Served Winter 2000 to Winter 2011
Thank you, Scotty!


James H. Oliver
Thank you, Jim!


Denis S. Karnosky
Served Summer 2003 to June 2012
Thank you, Denis!


D. Wayne Jacobson, Jr.
Thank you, Wayne!



Edwin H. Gott, Jr.
Served Summer 1996 to June 2011
Thank you, Ed!


Mission Statement

Established in 1961, the Ruffed Grouse Society is North America's foremost conservation organization dedicated to preserving our sporting traditions by creating healthy forest habitat for ruffed grouse, American woodcock and other wildlife. RGS works with landowners and government agencies to develop critical habitat utilizing scientific management practices.

Join & Renew

Sign Up

Corporate Sponsors